Press Release - Trauma center accreditation granted to two additional hospitals in Pennsylvania


CAMP HILL, PA (October 4, 2016) – Level IV Trauma Center Accreditation status has been granted to two additional hospitals in Pennsylvania starting November 1, 2016.

          Guthrie Troy Community Hospital, Troy, PA

          St. Luke’s Hospital – Quakertown Campus, Quakertown, PA

Effective November 1, 2016, this brings the total number of trauma centers in Pennsylvania to 38 comprised of the hospitals below:

Combined Adult Level 1 /Pediatric Level I Trauma Centers

1. Hershey – Penn State Milton S. Hershey Medical Center

Combined Adult Level 1/Pediatric Level II Trauma Centers

2. Allentown – Lehigh Valley Health Network – Cedar Crest Campus

3. Danville – Geisinger Medical Center

Adult Level I Trauma Centers

4. Bethlehem – St. Luke’s University Hospital – Bethlehem Campus

5. Johnstown – Conemaugh Memorial Medical Center

6. Philadelphia – Einstein Medical Center

7. Philadelphia – Hahnemann University Hospital

8. Philadelphia – Temple University Hospital

9. Philadelphia – Thomas Jefferson University Hospital

10. Philadelphia – Penn Presbyterian Medical Center

11. Pittsburgh – Allegheny General Hospital

12. Pittsburgh -– The University of Pittsburgh Medical Center – Mercy

13. Pittsburgh – The University of Pittsburgh Medical Center – Presbyterian

14. York – York Hospital

Pediatric Level I Trauma Centers

15. Philadelphia – St. Christopher’s Hospital for Children

16. Philadelphia – The Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia

17. Pittsburgh – The Children’s Hospital of Pittsburgh of UPMC

Adult Level II Trauma Centers

18. Abington – Abington Memorial Hospital

19. Altoona – The University of Pittsburgh Medical Center - Altoona

20. Erie – The University of Pittsburgh Medical Center - Hamot

21. Lancaster – Lancaster General Hospital

22. Langhorne – St. Mary Medical Center

23. Monroeville – Forbes Regional Hospital

24. Paoli – Paoli Hospital

25. Philadelphia – Aria Health - Torresdale Campus

26. Reading – The Reading Hospital and Medical Center

27. Sayre – Robert Packer Hospital

28. Scranton – Geisinger Community Medical Center

29. Upland – Crozer-Chester Medical Center

30. Wilkes Barre – Geisinger Wyoming Valley Medical Center

31. Wynnewood – Lankenau Medical Center

Level III Trauma Centers

32. East Stroudsburg – Pocono Medical Center

33. Meadville – Meadville Medical Center

Level IV Trauma Centers

34. Coaldale – St. Luke’s University Hospital – Miners Campus

35. Grove City – Grove City Medical Center

36. Hazleton – Lehigh Valley Hospital – Hazleton

37. Quakertown – St. Luke’s Hospital – Quakertown Campus (Effective November 1, 2016)

38. Troy – Guthrie Troy Community Hospital (Effective November 1, 2016)

The Pennsylvania Trauma Systems Foundation (PTSF) is a non-profit corporation recognized by the Emergency Medical Services Act (Act 1985-45). The PTSF is the organization responsible for accrediting trauma centers in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania.

Trauma centers are hospitals with resources immediately available to provide optimal care and reduce the likelihood of death or disability to injured patients. Accredited trauma centers must be continuously prepared to treat the most serious life threatening and disabling injuries. They are not intended to replace the traditional hospital and its emergency department for minor injuries.

In Pennsylvania there are four levels of trauma centers. Level I trauma centers provide the highest degree of resources with a full spectrum of specialists and must have trauma research and surgical residency programs. Level II trauma centers meet the same high level of care but do not require research and residency programs and the following subspecialists: cardiac surgery, hand surgery, vascular re-implantation, oral/maxillofacial surgery, otorhinolaryngological surgery, neurology, physiatry and psychiatry. Level III trauma centers are smaller community hospitals that do not require neurosurgeons and focus on stabilizing severe trauma patients prior to transport to a higher level trauma center. They may admit patients with mild and moderate injuries. Level IV trauma centers provide enhanced care to injured patients within the emergency department and focus on stabilization and quick transfer to a higher level trauma center. They may admit mildly injured patients.

Each trauma center regardless of its level is an integral component of the emergency medical services (EMS) system. The EMS system assures appropriate patient care management from the time of injury to treatment at a local hospital or trauma center through the rehabilitative phase of care. As of November 1, 2016 there will be 38 trauma centers in Pennsylvania.

To learn more about trauma center differences in Pennsylvania go to